Then she was gone by Lisa Jewell


Blurb from amazon.
BESTSELLING PSYCHOLOGICAL SUSPENSE, AND A TOP RICHARD & JUDY SELECTION
OVER 900 5* REVIEWS – this is what readers are saying:
‘Grips to the point of OBSESSION
‘My life STOPPED while I read this book’
‘My heart was THUMPING in my chest’
‘This is EDGE OF YOUR SEAT reading’
‘This book left me BREATHLESS
‘Cancel all plans and BUY THIS BOOK


************************

She was fifteen, her mother’s golden girl.
She had her whole life ahead of her.
And then, in the blink of an eye, Ellie was gone.
Ten years on, Laurel has never given up hope of finding Ellie. And then she meets a charming and charismatic stranger who sweeps her off her feet.
But what really takes her breath away is when she meets his nine-year-old daughter.
Because his daughter is the image of Ellie.
Now all those unanswered questions that have haunted Laurel come flooding back.

What really happened to Ellie? And who still has secrets to hide?


So when it had been ten years of Ellie disappearance that Laurel had never given up hope that she would have some news one day of her daughter. So could this stranger she’s just met be the answer to what she’s hoping for. 
Laurel has learnt how to cope with Ellie missing even with the split of the marriage with Paul she has learnt how to cope and try her hardest to get on with her life. So in between cleaning her daughters Hanna’s flat and work three days a week just to give her life some meaning. It comes as a shock when she meets Floyd in a cafe and they get talking and find they have thins in common. 
It wasn’t till she met his daughter poppy that it caused her to take deep breaths as poppy looks so much like Ellie and that she has to fight hard not to cry. Floyd then explains that he has two daughters one from a previous relationship she’s called Sara-Jane but likes to be called SJ and then poppy is from another relationship Noelle donnolly which for Laurel gives her a shock as she is sure she has heard that name before.
After a lot of soul searching she found that Noelle use to tutor Ellie before she went missing and is determined to find out why Noelle has not be seen or heard of since dropping poppy off with Floyd.

I loved this book it got me back my mojo of reading again and I thank Lisa for that she certainly knows how to capture your imagination and your heart I was shocked by the ending I wasn’t expecting that myself but I am glad how it ended for laurel and she can finally find peace. 
I will always recommend Lisa’s books to people who are struggling to get back there reading mojo. Its another 5 star book for me and would be in my top favourite books of the year (if I did that of course lol)


5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟


2 thoughts on “Then she was gone by Lisa Jewell

Leave a comment